Sergio Aguero and Kevin De Bruyne have been nominated for the 2018 Ballon d’Or.

Aguero, who scored  30 goals in 39 games last season, was also voted on the PFA Team of the Year for the first time.

The Argentine also became the Club's all-time top scorer with his 178th goal for the Blues against Napoli as he continued to smash City and domestic records.

READ: October key dates for all our teams

enjoyed a superb 2017/18 campaign and was voted the Blues’ Player of the Season.

He played 52 games, scoring 12 goals in all competitions and made 16 Premier League assists

The Belgian narrowly missed out on the PFA Player of the Year, was voted the Premier League Playmaker of the Season and made the 2017 UEFA Team of the Year and the 2017/18 PFA Team of the Year.

De Bruyne enjoyed a fine World Cup as Belgium finished third behind Croatia and eventual winners France.

                        ASSIST KING: Kevin De Bruyne celebrates another goal made at West Ham
ASSIST KING: Kevin De Bruyne celebrates another goal made at West Ham


Earlier this year, when Pep Guardiola was asked if KDB could win the prize he said: “No doubt. It is not one game, it’s the whole season, every three days playing that way. Every three games. The way he played, it’s difficult to find one in Europe better.”

De Bruyne, also speaking early in 2018, said: "I do everything to win titles with the team. What happens after is an extra. I am very pleased with the way everything is going for me. I am playing this way because the team is playing this way. It makes it easier for me, it makes it easier for them. At the end, if you get an individual honour it is beautiful.

The boss also believes Kun Aguero is playing some of the best football of his career and he has so far bagged eight goals in 11 games.

Aguero, Edinson Cavani, Alisson Becker, Gareth Bale and Karim Benzema were the first five to be named.

The second batch revealed by France Football include De Bruyne, Diego Godin, Cristiano Ronaldo, Roberto Firmino and Thibaut Courtois and the third saw Harry Kane, N'golo Kante, Eden Hazard, Isco and Antoine Griezmann all added.

More nominees will be revealed throughout the day.