Women's Team

Clean sheet for Dahlkemper in USA's Summer Series success over Jamaica

Clean sheet for Dahlkemper in USA's Summer Series success over Jamaica
Abby Dahlkemper helped the United States to a thumping Summer Series win over Jamaica on an historic night in Houston, Texas.

The World Champions secured their second victory of the tournament with a 4-0 rout, which saw former City star Carli Lloyd become the oldest goalscorer for her country at 38 years and 332 days.

Lloyd's quickfire opener (her 125th career international goal) was also the second-fastest in USWNT history - scored after just 23 seconds.

BUY ABBY'S #13 SHIRT

Fellow former Blue Rose Lavelle crafted the assist and Sam Mewis would also provide a contribution, teeing up Alex Morgan in injury time for the fourth, after Lindsey Horan and Margaret Purce had extended the hosts' lead.

The triumph extended the USA's unbeaten streak to an astounding 41 matches - the third-longest in their history.

Dahlkemper, who gained the most minutes played for her country in both 2019 and 2020, earned her 68th cap with her 61st start.

Her clean sheet marked the seventh in a row. The defender has completed the full 90 minutes in each, having featured in all bar one game in which she has been available throughout her senior international career.

The Summer Series marks the United States' final games before Head Coach Vlatko Andonovski names their 18-player Olympic squad.

The four-time gold medallists complete the Series against Nigeria in Austin, Texas on 16 June (20:00 CT / 21:00 ET / 02:00 UK time on 17 June), live on ESPN2.

View all club partners

Mancity.com

31?
loading