Women's Team

City trio up for FA WSL end of season awards

Gareth Taylor, Sam Mewis and Chloe Kelly have been nominated in the FA Women’s Super League end of season awards.

Manager Taylor has been shortlisted for the Manager of the Season award, while summer recruits Mewis and Kelly have been named in the Player of the Season category.


Taylor has impressed in his maiden campaign at the helm, leading City to FA Cup success - our third in four years - and mounting a strong title challenge, whilst instilling a free-flowing and defensively solid brand of football.

While Chelsea hold the advantage in the title race, following a 2-2 draw at the Academy Stadium last time out, Taylor could lift his first WSL trophy in his debut season, should Hayes' side drop points in the remaining two games and City capitalise.

Also enjoying their debut seasons in sky blue, both Mewis and Kelly have been pivotal in City's success.

Mewis proved an instant hit in England and has played an integral role to become one of the first names on Taylor's team sheet, providing as key an influence off the pitch as well as on it with a commanding, powerful and inspirational presence.

In 29 appearances in all competitions, she has netted 14 goals, including strikes in the FA Cup Final and semi-finals - and the winner on her Champions League debut.

In the league alone, the Tower of Power has bagged five goals and carved two assists - triumphant in 11 of her 14 games, drawing the other three.

Meanwhile, Kelly has been equally influential, marking her debut campaign with 14 goals in 33 appearances in all competitions.

The 23-year-old has been a constant menace to opposition defences and has formed a fruitful partnership with Ellen White and Lauren Hemp as part of a frightening attacking trident.

The winger leads the assist charts with an astonishing 11 in the league alone and has scored seven goals herself, winning 15 of her 19 WSL games.

Our trio face stiff competition, with Taylor lining up against Chelsea's Emma Hayes, Manchester United's Casey Stoney, Brighton and Hove Albion's Hope Powell and Birmingham City's Carla Ward.

Mewis and Kelly lock horns with Chelsea duo Sam Kerr and Fran Kirby, Arsenal's Vivianne Miedema and Everton's Izzy Christiansen.

Voting closes at noon on Friday 30 April with the winners to be announced on Friday 14 May via the @BarclaysFAWSL Twitter account.

Good luck to all three of our nominees.



View all club partners