Men's Team

City trio named in PFA Team of the Year

Three Manchester City players have been named in the 2021/22 PFA Premier League Team of the Year.

Joao Cancelo, Kevin De Bruyne and Bernardo Silva all claimed a place in the prestigious annual XI, which is voted for by professionals from across England’s top tier.


The trio were instrumental in City’s title triumph, each enjoying stellar periods of form across the course of the campaign to help Pep Guardiola’s men lift the trophy for the fourth time in five seasons.

Cancelo, who is included for the second consecutive year, was part of a defence that kept a league-high 21 clean sheets whilst remaining typically influential in attack with one goal and seven assists.

Nobody in the division made more passes than the full-back, whose pace and creativity has become integral to City’s forward play.

Bernardo has been selected for the first time and his inclusion comes after another campaign in which his potent combination of industry and inventiveness made the playmaker a vital cog in Guardiola’s midfield.

He made 35 league appearances, scoring eight goals and providing four assists and was in inspired form in the opening months of the campaign when he netted a superb volley against Aston Villa to win our Nissan Goal of the Season prize.

De Bruyne, who was nominated for the PFA Player of the Year award, appears in the team of the year for a fifth time after being directly involved in 23 goals from his 30 league appearances.

He was on target a career-best 15 times, which included a memorable four-goal haul against Wolves, whilst he also provided eight assists as he once again evidenced his status as one of Europe’s best midfielders.

There was further success for City at the 2021/22 PFA awards, with Phil Foden named men’s Young Player of the Year, and Lauren Hemp scooping the same prize in the women’s category.

Hemp was also named in the Women's Super League Team of the Year, alongside Alex Greenwood and Caroline Weir.

Everyone at Manchester City congratulates all our players on their well-deserved recognition.


Alisson, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil Van Dijk, Antonio Rudiger, Joao Cancelo, Thiago Alcantara, Kevin De Bruyne, Bernardo Silva, Sadio Mane, Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohamed Salah.