Men's Team

Four nominated for PFA Men's Player of the Year

Four nominated for PFA Men's Player of the Year
Four Manchester City players have been nominated for the 2020/21 PFA Players’ Player of the Year award.

Ruben Dias, Kevin De Bruyne, Phil Foden and Ilkay Gundogan are in the running for the prestigious prize having been voted for by their fellow professionals in recognition of the performances during our title-winning campaign.


They are joined on the six-man shortlist by Manchester United’s Bruno Fernandes and Tottenham Hotspur’s Harry Kane.

Foden is also in contention for PFA Young Player of the Year and is up against Trent Alexander-Arnold, Mason Greenwood, Mason Mount, Declan Rice and Bukayo Saka.

The winner will be announced on Sunday 6 June, with the awards ceremony available to watch on the PFA’s social media channels from 7.30pm.

Dias, De Bruyne, Foden and Gundogan all enjoyed fine campaigns as Pep Guardiola’s side regained the Premier League crown.

The Portuguese defender was an inspiring leader at the back in a side which kept 19 clean sheets, whilst De Bruyne produced six goals and 12 assists in 25 appearances.

Gundogan ended the season as City’s top scorer and his rich vein of form midway through the season was central to our success, whilst Foden has gone from strength to strength in his best campaign to date, netting nine times and providing five assists in the league.

Should one of the four be successful, the highly regarded annual prize will be in the hands of a City player for the second consecutive year, after De Bruyne became the Club’s first male to win the award in 2019/20.

And, if Foden is successful in the Young Player of the Year vote, he would be the third City player to collect the trophy in the last four seasons, with Leroy Sane and Raheem Sterling having won in 2018 and 2019 respectively.

Everyone at Manchester City congratulates Ruben, Kevin, Phil and Ilkay on their nomination and wishes them the best of luck in the final vote.

View all club partners