Women's Team

City Women quartet picked for England

City Women quartet picked for England
Four of City Women's international stars have been chosen to represent their country next month.

Steph Houghton, Jill Scott and Toni Duggan have all been selected in Mark Sampson's senior squad for England's World Cup qualifier against Montenegro, whilst youngster Natasha Flint is included in Mo Marley's under-19 side for their upcoming European Championship qualifiers.

Goalkeeper Karen Bardsley would also have featured for the seniors but the shot-stopper is sidelined through injury.

Sampson's side are currently top of Group Six, having won each of their four games, and will face Montenegro at Brighton's Amex Stadium on 5 April. The clash will be broadcast live on BBC One.

Meanwhile, Marley's under-19s will have to negotiate a round-robin tournament between 5 and 10 April. The youngsters will lock horns with Denmark, Serbia and host nation Finland to compete for top spot, since only the top-placed team will progress to July's finals in Norway.

Flint, who recently signed her first senior contract with City, scored in the defeat to France during the La Manga tournament and will hope to play a key role as the young Lions target success in the European Championships for the first time since 2009.

Full senior squad:

Goalkeepers: Siobhan Chamberlain (Arsenal), Mary Earps (Birmingham City), Carly Telford (Notts County)

Defenders: Laura Bassett (Chelsea), Gemma Bonner (Liverpool), Sophie Bradley (Notts County), Lucy Bronze (Liverpool), Alex Greenwood (Everton), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Alex Scott (Arsenal), Demi Stokes (University of South Florida), Casey Stoney (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Anita Asante (Malmo), Karen Carney (Birmingham City), Jade Moore (Birmingham City), Jill Scott (Manchester City), Fara Williams (Liverpool)

Forwards: Eniola Aluko (Chelsea), Natasha Dowie (Liverpool), Toni Duggan (Manchester City), Lianne Sanderson (Boston Breakers), Kelly Smith (Arsenal), Ellen White (Notts County).

Full under-19 squad:

Goalkeepers: Sophie Baggaley (Birmingham City), Caitlin Leach (Aston Villa)

Defenders: Gabrielle George (Everton), Aoife Mannion (Birmingham City), Vyan Sampson (Arsenal), Ellie Stewart (Liverpool), Leah Williamson (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Jade Bailey (Arsenal), Jodie Brett (Chelsea), Sarah Mayling (Aston Villa), Abbey-Leigh Stringer (Aston Villa), Millie Turner (Everton), Katie Zelem (Liverpool)

Forwards: Rosella Ayane (Chelsea), Jess Carter (Birmingham City), Natasha Flint (Manchester City), Abbey Joice (Sunderland), Beth Mead (Sunderland).