Men's Team

Five Blues up for PFA awards

PFA AWARDS: City are well represented in this year's nominations
The brilliant form of a quintet of City stars has been recognised in the PFA Player of the Year shortlists.

Kevin De Bruyne, David Silva and Leroy Sane are up for the main award, along with Tottenham's Harry Kane, Liverpool's Mohamed Salah and Manchester United's David De Gea. 

Sane's exceptional season means he is also up for the Young Player of the Year award, alongside teammates Raheem Sterling and Ederson. They face competition from Kane, United's Marcus Rashford and Fulham's Ryan Sessegnon, who becomes the first player from outside the top flight to be nominated. 

De Bruyne and Silva have, literally, been central to City rise to the Premier League summit this season.

Belgian star De Bruyne has a league-leading 15 assists while Silva has 11, and when it comes to goals they have seven and eight respectively.

Sterling has scored 16 league goals and claimed eight assists, with Sane’s ratio nine and 12.

And 24-year-old Ederson, signed from Benfica in the summer, has been superb, with his calmness under pressure and ability distribute the ball having a transformative effect on City's play. He has kept 15 clean sheets in the Premier League.

Beyond the bare stats, all five players have been key to some of the best football seen in the Premier League all season with City’s pace, grace and guile delighting the Etihad Stadium faithful.

View all club partners