quote linkedin dugout

First Team News

Video 1 Gallery

Aguero named FSF Player of the Year 2014

Another day, another accolade for the Barclays Premier League's leading scorer.

Sergio Aguero held off competition from Eden Hazard, Raheem Sterling, Branislav Ivanovic, Morgan Schneiderlin and Yaya Toure to succeed Luis Suarez as the Football Supporters’ Federation Player of the Year.

The FIFPro World XI of 2014 nominee has been, by his own reckoning, in the form of his life so far this campaign, netting 17 goals in 19 games in all competitions - a tally which includes 12 Premier League strikes in 13 appearances in 2014/15.

Kun wasn’t on the scoresheet against Southampton last time out but he assisted two goals and claimed the broadcaster’s Man of the Match award to cap another memorable week in the 26-year old’s City career.

The Argentine travelled down to London to accept the award in person and revealed his delight at this latest recognition from the supporters.

“I’m happy to receive this award from the fans, very happy,” Aguero declared.

“It’s a really special award as it’s from the supporters and I’d also like to take this opportunity to thanks everyone at the club. 

“Not just the players but the coaching staff and technical team as well.”

Kevin Miles, Chief Executive of the FSF, said: “Sergio is in phenomenal form, he’s a worthy winner in an exceptionally talented field. He was the clear winner of the fans’ vote and a player we can all admire.”

Aguero was joined by hundreds of fans, journalists and club representatives to salute the best in the business across a range of categories including Pundit and Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year.

Sky Sports’ Gary Neville scooped Pundit of the Year, taking the prize from under the nose of his colleague Jamie Carragher.

Other winners on the night included Amy Lawrence who picked up Writer of the Year while Leeds United fanzine The Square Ball took home Fanzine of the Year.

Stoke City’s Anthony Emmerson won the inaugural Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year Award.

Almost 250,000 votes were cast in this year’s Awards.

The winners of the 2014 FSF Awards in association with William Hill:

•           Away Day of the Year - Cardiff City

•           Blogger of the Year - Arseblog

•           Commentator of the Year - Martin Tyler

•           Fanzine of the Year - The Square Ball

•           Independent Website of the Year - Who Scored

•           Newspaper of the Year - The Guardian

•           Player of the Year - Sergio Agüero

•           Podcast/Radio of the Year - Football Weekly

•           Pundit of the Year - Gary Neville

•           Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year - Anthony Emmerson

•           Writer of the Year - Amy Lawrence

First Team News

Time to end the jinx says Zabaleta

Picture Special

Picture special: Welcome to fabulous Las Vegas

Match Report

Super City too good for Saints