Manchester City's EDS will entertain Southampton in our Premier League 2 opener at the City Football Academy on Sunday, August 11.

The fixture list has thrown up an intriguing first match for manager Paul Harsley and his coaching staff as the latest crop of young Blues bid to further develop their development and experience.

Following the visit of the young Saints to the Academy Stadium, the schedule for August has also thrown up testing trips to both Tottenham and Liverpool as well as another home clash with Chelsea.

Ahead of the campaign, Harsley said that he, his coaching staff and the EDS squad were eagerly looking forward to the new season.

“Again, we will be very young this season which is fine. A lot of the squad were in the Under-18 squad last season, some were still apprentices, but we push them on early here and now it’s about this next bit of their journey.

READ: City's EFL draw details revealed

WATCH: Inside City | Hong Kong and Tokyo special

"They need to be really good at our style of play to evade the physical challenges they will find in PL 2. We’re not going to fight fire with fire so it’s about how we can be the best Manchester City we can be to manage those challenges.

“That’s big challenge but it’s one we are all really looking forward to.

“We are focusing on fostering a real team culture this year, recognising the challenge but embracing it and really building on that positive team culture.”

2019/20 PL 2 fixtures – subject to change

Sun Aug 11: CFA City v Southampton 1pm

Fri Aug 16: A Tottenham v City 7pm

Fri Aug 23: CFA City v Chelsea 7pm

Sat Aug 31: A Liverpool v City 1pm

Sat Sep 14: CFA City v Wolves 1pm

Sun Sep 22: A Derby County v City 1pm

Fri Sep 27: A Everton v City 7pm

Sat Oct 19: CFA City v Brighton 1pm

Sat Oct 26: CFA City v Arsenal 12noon

Fri Nov 1: CFA City v Leicester 7pm

Fri Nov 22: A Blackburn v City 7pm

Fri Dec 6: A Southampton v City 7pm

Mon Dec 16: CFA City v Tottenham 7pm

Mon Jan 6: CFA City v Liverpool 7pm

Fri Jan 10: A Chelsea v City 7pm

Fri Jan 31: CFA City v Everton 7pm

Fri Feb 14: A Brighton v City 7pm

Fri Feb 28: A Arsenal v City 7pm

Mon March 16: A Leicester v City 7pm

Fri Apr 3: CFA City v Blackburn 7pm

Fri Apr 17: A Wolves v City 7pm

Fri May 1: CFA City v Derby 7pm