EDS & Academy

City duo receive England call-ups

Two Manchester City youngsters have been included in Ryan Garry’s England Under-17s squad for the upcoming UEFA Under-17 Championship qualifying round.

Defender Lakyle Samuel and forward Justin Oboavwoduo have made the 21-man squad who will fly out to Georgia to take part in a four-team group, with the aim of reaching the elite qualifying round in Hungary next Spring.

England U17 begin their qualification campaign against Lithuania on Tuesday 25 October (12:00pm UK), before facing hosts Georgia on Friday 28 October (3pm UK).

The Young Lions’ group stage will then conclude with a clash with Israel on Monday 31 October at 2pm (UK).

There are 13 four-team qualifying round groups, with the top two in each joining top seeds Netherlands and Spain in the elite round, along with the four third-placed teams with the best records against the top two in their section.

Those 32 teams will then be hoping to join hosts Hungary at the 16-team Finals from May 17 to June 2 2023.

The full squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Ted Curd (Chelsea), Finlay Herrick (West Ham United), Jack Thompson (Derby County)

Defenders: Zach Abbott (Nottingham Forest), Josh Acheampong (Chelsea), Travis Akomeah (Chelsea), Mirsad Ali (Leicester City), Jayden Meghoma (Southampton), Lakyle Samuel (Manchester City), Ishé Samuels-Smith (Everton)

Midfielders: Kiano Dyer (Chelsea), Michael Golding (Chelsea), Jimoh Jamaldeen (West Bromwich Albion), Myles Lewis-Skelly (Arsenal), Chris Rigg (Sunderland)

Forwards: Leon Chiwome (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Tyler Dibling (Southampton), Oliver Irow (Tottenham Hotspur), Jimmy-Jay Morgan (Southampton), Ethan Nwaneri (Arsenal), Justin Oboavwoduo (Manchester City)