Women's Team

Four City players named in PFA WSL Team of the Year

Manchester City’s Caroline Weir, Chloe Kelly, Lauren Hemp and Sam Mewis have all been named in the 2020/21 PFA Women’s Super League (WSL) Team of the Year.

The quartet were voted into the prestigious XI by their fellow professionals in recognition of their superb form last season and their inclusion means City have been represented in the annual all-star team in each of the last seven seasons.


Kelly, who scooped the Club’s Player of the Year accolade last month, enjoyed an impressive debut season at the Academy Stadium following her move from Everton, scoring 16 goals in 34 appearances in all competitions, including a hat-trick versus Aston Villa.

Weir – the recipient of City’s Goal of the Season award for her memorable effort against Manchester United – also impressed in her third year with the Club by finding the back of the net nine times in 34 outings.

Despite being sidelined with a hamstring injury for the early stages of the campaign meanwhile, Hemp returned to the side with gusto and turned out for City 23 times across league and cup, scoring ten goals.

And finally, Mewis – who has since returned to North Carolina Courage – certainly impressed during her solitary campaign in Manchester with 16 efforts in 32 appearances.

Speaking about their achievement, Manchester City Women Head Coach Gareth Taylor said: “Everybody at the Club is incredibly proud of the players who have made the PFA WSL Team of the Year and it is very much deserved for all four of the girls.

“They all had impressive seasons on an individual level, but their impact on the team as a whole has been invaluable and for them to be recognised by their fellow professionals in the league speaks volumes about them.

“The fact that this is a second consecutive inclusion for Chloe [Kelly] and Caroline [Weir] too is fantastic and really highlights how they are both making their mark on the WSL.

“I am sure these four players also recognise the contributions of their teammates, as that has allowed them to shine too.

“On behalf of everybody at City however, I’d like to congratulate them all and we’re delighted that they are receiving the plaudits and awards that their dedication and efforts deserve.”


Ann-Katrin Berger (Chelsea); Katie McCabe (Arsenal); Leah Williamson (Arsenal); Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea); Maren Mjelde (Chelsea); Sam Mewis (Manchester City); Caroline Weir (Manchester City); Sam Kerr (Chelsea); Chloe Kelly (Manchester City); Fran Kirby (Chelsea); Lauren Hemp (Manchester City).