Men's Team

Your Manchester City guide to the 2021 Copa America

Manchester City will have a number of representatives at this summer’s Copa America.

South America's prestigious biannual tournament will offer the players the chance for further success at the end of what has been a magnificent Club season

We will be keeping a close eye on our players' involvement and bringing you the latest updates throughout the competition on and the Man City App.

But, before the tournament gets under way, you can find out everything you need to know below.


A number of City players have been named in preliminary squads.

Goalkeeper Ederson and striker Gabriel Jesus are part of the 24-man Brazil squad which has been named by head coach Tite ahead of World Cup qualifiers against Paraguay and Ecuador which precede the Copa America.

Meanwhile Argentine striker Sergio Aguero, who leaves City at the end of June to join Barcelona, has been selected in Argentina’s 30-man squad for their forthcoming World Cup qualifiers against Chile and Colombia which take place before the Copa America.

CONMEBOL have permitted nations to expand their final Copa squads from 23 to 28.

The initial preliminary group of 50 players which countries were allowed to select can also be expanded to 60 before a final decision is made on the final squad on June 1.


Having been postponed from 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2021 tournament will now take place from 13 June to 10 July 2021


South American football’s governing body CONMEBOL confirmed earlier on Monday that Brazil would stage the tournament with original co-hosts Colombia and Argentina both not now hosting the event.

Colombia were removed as hosts due to security issues within the country earlier this month.

And with COVID-19 cases on the increase in Argentina, organisers announced over the weekend that the tournament would not be held there either.

Now Brazil, who hosted the last Copa America in 2019, have stepped in at the last minute and will play host once again.

What is the tournament format?

There are two groups of five countries, Group A and Group B which each country playing four group games. The top four in each group then progress through to the quarter-final knockout stages.

Which countries have qualified?

Argentina, Bolivia, Uruguay, Chile and Uruguay will take part in Group A.
Brazil, Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador and Peru are in Group B

How can I watch the Copa America 2021?

Coverage of the 2021 Copa America on TV will be shown exclusively live on the BBC in the UK.

The BBC will show every game from the 47th edition of the tournament live from South America where Brazil will be aiming to defend their title.


View all club partners