Men's Team

City make six changes for Wolves

Gabriel Jesus, Aymeric Laporte and Bernardo Silva return to Manchester City’s starting line-up as Pep Guardiola makes six changes for tonight’s game against Wolverhampton Wanderers.

Joao Cancelo, Rodrigo and Raheem Sterling also come back into the side, with Ederson, Kyle Walker, Ruben Dias, Kevin De Bruyne and Riyad Mahrez retaining their place following the 2-1 victory over West Ham United at the weekend.


John Stones, Oleksandr Zinchenko, Fernandinho, Ilkay Gundogan, Ferran Torres and Sergio Aguero all drop to the bench and Nathan Ake is City’s only injury absentee as he continues to recover from a muscular problem.

Ahead of this game, Guardiola revealed the Dutch defender will return to full training this week.


CITY: Ederson, Walker, Dias, Laporte, Cancelo, Rodrigo, Bernardo, De Bruyne (C), Mahrez, Sterling, Jesus.

SUBS: Steffen, Stones, Gundogan, Aguero, Zinchenko, Torres, Fernandinho, Foden, Garcia.

WOLVES: Patricio, Semedo, Hoever, Coady (C), Saiss, Otto, Dendoncker, Moutinho, Neves, Adama, Neto.

SUBS: Ruddy, Ait-Nouri, Jose, Boly, Silva, Gibbs-White, Vitinha, Kilman, Otasowie.

Formation and squad notes

It looks like City will line-up in a 4-3-3 formation, with the returning Jesus flanked by Sterling and Mahrez in a three-man attack.

With Walker and Cancelo both included, the Portuguese international will be deployed at left-back and we can expect him to move to add an extra body in midfield.

Dias and Laporte will be at the heart of defence, with Rodrigo protecting them at the base of midfield, whilst De Bruyne and Bernardo look to provide creative impetus in attack.

Facts and stats

  • Following our 3-1 win at Molineux in September, victory tonight would give us our third Premier League double over Wolves.
  • However, the visitor’s 2-0 win at the Etihad Stadium last season means they can record back-to-back top-flight away victories against City for the first time since 1960.
  • We are on 20 match winning streak, which is a record in English top-flight football.
  • City have claimed 14 consecutive Premier League wins - no other side has won more than four in a row this season.
  • We can equal Arsenal's Premier League record of 19 consecutive games without trailing at any point, set between December 1998 and May 1999.
  • Guardiola’s men are just one short of the club record unbeaten run of 28 games in all competitions.
View all club partners