Five Manchester City players have been named in the England squad for the upcoming UEFA Nations League games against Italy and Germany.

Kyle Walker, Phil Foden, Jack Grealish, John Stones and Kalvin Phillips are all included in the 28-man group selected by manager Gareth Southgate.

The Three Lions will be looking for an upturn in their Nations League prospects in their final two group games as well as further honing preparations ahead of this winter’s World Cup finals in Qatar.

England first travel to tackle Italy at the San Siro Stadium in Milan on Friday, September 23, kick-off 7.45pm.

They then play host to Germany at Wembley on Monday, September 26, with kick-off again slated for 7.45pm.

England are currently bottom of Group A3 with two points from four games to date. Hungary top the table with eight points, Germany are in second place with six points, with Italy third on five points.

The City quintet will join up with the Three Lions in the wake of Saturday’s Premier League game away to Wolves, and return to the City Football Academy ahead of our Premier League fixture against Manchester United on Sunday 2 October.

We’ll keep you updated with how all our internationals get on during the September break with regular roundups here on and our Official App.

England squad

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Nottingham Forest on loan), Nick Pope (Newcastle), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Everton on loan), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Fikayo Tomori (AC Milan), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)

Forwards: Tammy Abraham (AS Roma), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Ivan Toney (Brentford)