quote feed-section sponsor-promos cf show linkedin dugout

Women's Team

Video 1 Gallery

Lucy Bronze wins PFA Women's Player of the Year

WINNER: Lucy Bronze collects her PFA Women's Player of the Year award.

WINNER: Lucy Bronze collects her PFA Women's Player of the Year award.

Lucy Bronze has won the Professional Footballers' Association Women's Player of the Year award for the second time.

The Manchester City Women full-back saw off competition from team-mates Jane Ross and Jill Scott to claim the 2017 honour, which she first won in 2014.

Bronze collected the trophy at the Grosvenor House ceremony, also beating international colleagues Ellen White and Karen Carney, as well as Caroline Weir, to the top prize.

“Just to be nominated is a huge honour,” she told the PFA.

“It's the best award to be nominated for really - for the players that you play against week in week out to think of you as the best player of the season - so to be nominated and put in the team was unbelievable.

“It’s not really sunk in that I’ve won the award, but it’s a huge honour and I’m so grateful.”

The 25-year-old England international was the sole winner from the City nominees.

Leroy Sane was up for the Young Player of the Year award won by Dele Alli and a trio of Blues - Nikita Parris, Georgia Stanway and Keira Walsh – were nominated for the Women’s Young Player of the Year, which Birmingham City’s Jess Carter received.

The acknowledgement from her fellow professionals caps an outstanding 2016 campaign for Bronze, during which she proved to be a model of consistency as a standout performer in Nick Cushing’s double winning side.

Personally too, it proved to be successful, with the PFA gong joining the FA WSL Players’ Player of the Year, the Etihad Airways Player of the Year and the Official Supporters Club Player of the Year honours in Lucy’s personal trophy haul from the 2016 season.

Women's Team

Cushing: We can grow from our experience

GAFFER: What does Nick Cushing have in store for Lyon?

Nick Cushing believes Man City Women can learn a lot from their Champions League semi-final defeat to Lyon.

The Blues lost 3-1 at the Academy Stadium in the first leg tie, thanks to goals from Saki Kumagai, Dzsenifer Maroszan and Eugenie Le Sommer.

Women's Team

Asllani: It’s not over yet

SUPER SWEDE: Kosovare Asllani celebrates her goal against Lyon

Kosovare Asllani has urged Man City Women not to lose hope of reaching the Champions League final.

Nick Cushing’s side fell to a 3-1 defeat to reigning champions Lyon in the semi-final first leg at the Academy Stadium.

Women's Match Report

Report: City 1-3 Lyon

BATTLE: Kosovare Asllani skips away from a challenge

Man City Women’s hopes of reaching a first Champions League final hang by a thread, following a 3-1 semi-final first leg defeat to Lyon.

Kosovare Asllani’s second goal for the Club had cancelled out Saki Kumagai’s opener but goals from Dzsenifer Maroszan and Eugenie Le Sommer handed the reigning champions a strong advantage to take into the return leg.