Mens Team

Champions League group stage: Who can City draw?

Champions League group stage: Who can City draw?
Manchester City will discover our opponents for the group stage of this season’s UEFA Champions League this afternoon.

Pep Guardiola's men will be competing in Europe’s premier competition for the ninth successive season, the longest current run of any English side.

The group stage draw will take place on Thursday 29 August at 5pm BST (6pm CET) at the Grimaldi Forum, Monaco. The ceremony will be streamed live via

City, who became the first side in a decade to retain the Premier League title last season, will be placed in Pot 1 alongside Liverpool and Chelsea - so who can we face?

READ: Pep salutes stalwarts Silva and Aguero

WATCH: 400 and counting | 10 great David Silva assists


The group stage draw separates the 32 teams into eight groups of four.

The 26 teams given direct entry to the group stage are joined by the six winners of August's play-off ties.

The teams will be split into four seeding pots. Pot 1 consists of the holders, the UEFA Europa League winners and the champions of the six highest-ranked nations. Pots 2 to 4 are determined by the club coefficient rankings.

No team can play a club from their own association and, based on decisions taken by the UEFA Executive Committee, clubs from Russia and Ukraine must not be drawn in the same group.

In the case of associations with two or more representatives, clubs will be paired in order to split their matches between Tuesday and Wednesday. If a paired club is drawn, for example, in Groups A, B, C or D, the other paired club – once drawn – will automatically be assigned to one of Groups E, F, G or H.

The draw also establishes the groups for the UEFA Champions League path of the UEFA Youth League.

Pot 1

Liverpool (ENG, Champions League winners)
Chelsea (ENG, UEFA Europa League winners)
Barcelona (ESP)
Manchester City (ENG)
Juventus (ITA)
Bayern (GER)
Paris (FRA)
Zenit (RUS)

Pot 2

Real Madrid (ESP) coefficient 146.000
Atlético Madrid (ESP) 127.000 
Borussia Dortmund (GER) 85.000 
Napoli (ITA) 80.000
Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR) 80.000
Tottenham Hotspur (ENG) 78.000 
Ajax (NED) 70.500
Benfica (POR) 68.000

Pot 3

Lyon (FRA) 61.500 
Bayer Leverkusen (GER) 61.000  
Salzburg (AUT) 54.500
Olympiacos (GRE) 44.000 
Club Brugge (BEL) 39.500 
Valencia (ESP) 37.000
Internazionale Milano (ITA) 31.000 
GNK Dinamo (CRO) 29.500

Pot 4

Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS) 28.500 
Genk (BEL) 25.000 
Galatasaray (TUR) 22.500 
RB Leipzig (GER) 22.000 
Slavia Praha (CZE) 21.500 
Crvena zvezda (SRB) 16.750 
Atalanta (ITA) 14.945 
LOSC Lille (FRA) 11.699

Fight 'til the end: Part One

Who can we face?

Pot 2: Real Madrid (ESP), Atlético Madrid (ESP), Borussia Dortmund (GER), Napoli (ITA), Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR), Ajax (NED), Benfica (POR)

Pot 3: Lyon (FRA), Bayer Leverkusen (GER), Salzburg (AUT), Olympiacos (GRE), Club Brugge (BEL), Valencia (ESP), Internazionale Milano (ITA), GNK Dinamo (CRO)

Pot 4: Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS), Genk (BEL), Galatasaray (TUR), RB Leipzig (GER), Slavia Praha (CZE), Crvena zvezda (SRB), Atalanta (ITA), LOSC Lille (FRA)

Match dates:

Matchday one: 17/18 September
Matchday two: 1/2 October
Matchday three: 22/23 October
Matchday four: 5/6 November
Matchday five: 26/27 November
Matchday six: 10/11 December

Round of 16 draw: 16 December

Round of 16, first leg: 18/19 and 25/26 February
Round of 16, second leg: 10/11 and 17/18 March

Quarter-final and semi-final draw: 20 March

Quarter finals, first leg: 7/8 April
Quarter-finals, second leg: 14/15 April: quarter-finals, second leg

Semi-finals, first leg: 28/29 April
Semi-finals, second leg: 5/6 May

Final: Saturday 30 May (Atatürk Olimpiyat Stadı, Istanbul)

View all club partners