quote linkedin dugout

First Team News

Video 1 Gallery

Everything you need to know about Copa America 2015

One of the world’s most evenly-matched major international competitions is within touching distance.

The 44th Copa America gets under way in Chile in the early hours of Friday morning with 12 nations vying for South America’s greatest prize.

City have four representatives spread across two camps at the tournament which runs for the next three weeks.

Sergio Aguero, Martin Demichelis and Pablo Zabaleta will be aiming to go one better than they managed at last summer’s World Cup where they finished as runners-up, while Fernandinho’s Brazil will be eager to gain redemption after their humiliating semi-final exit on home soil.

Eight stadiums across Chile will host the tournament, from the northern-most Estadio Regional de Antofagasta to the the Estadio Municipal German Becker in Temuco in the south.

No country has won the competition on more occasions than Uruguay who have landed the prize 15 times.

To make up the numbers for three four-team groups, Mexico are regularly invited to compete along with a rotated special guest slot - this time filled by Jamaica.

City quartet's records

Aguero and Zabaleta both appeared at their first Copa America in 2011 where Kun scored three times in the group stages. This will be Demichelis and Fernandinho's first time at the tournament.

The Last Time...

Oscar Tabarez’s Uruguay are the holders after winning the competition hosted by Argentina in 2011.

It was a tournament in which the underdogs shone and the leading nations struggled as Paraguay, Peru and Venezuela made up the rest of the top three.

Both Argentina and Brazil crashed out on penalties at the quarter-final stage at the hands of Uruguay and Paraguay respectively last time out.

Luis Suarez was the competition’s star man, landing the best player award for his four goals which led Los Charrúas to the title.

This time Suarez won’t be there to aid his side as he serves the suspension meted out for the incident involving Giorgio Chiellini at the World Cup.

The Groups

Group A: Chile, Mexico, Ecuador, Bolivia

Group B: Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay, Jamaica

Group C: Brazil, Colombia, Peru, Venezuela

Did you know?

Somewhat surprisingly in such a small field of regular competitors, Argentina haven't won the competition since 1993, while Brazil have only triumphed eight times (seven times less than Uruguay) and hosts Chile have never won a Copa America.

How to follow

You can watch all of the action live in the UK on Premier Sports.

We’ll be bringing you full tournament previews for Argentina and Brazil in the days preceding their opening games and we'll be covering every game involving one of our players throughout the competition on the website and across our social media channels.

First round fixtures (kick-off times BST)

12 June Chile vs Ecuador - Santiago (00:30)

13 June Mexico vs Bolivia - Viña del Mar (00:30)

13 June Uruguay vs Jamaica - Antofagasta (20:00)

13 June Argentina vs Paraguay - La Serena (22:30)

14 June Colombia vs Venezuela - Rancagua (20:00)

14 June Brazil vs Peru - Temuco (22:30)

15 June Ecuador vs Bolivia - Valparaíso (22:00)

16 June: Chile vs Mexico - Santiago (00:30)

16 June: Paraguay vs Jamaica - Antofagasta (22:00)

17 June: Argentina vs Uruguay - La Serena (00:30)

18 June: Brazil vs Colombia - Santiago (01:00)

19 June: Peru vs Venezuela - Valparaíso (00:30)

19 June: Mexico vs Ecuador - Rancagua (22:00)

20 June: Chile vs Bolivia - Santiago (00:30)

20 June: Uruguay vs Paraguay - La Serena (20:00)

20 June: Argentina vs Jamaica - Viña del Mar (22:30)

21 June: Colombia vs Peru - Temuco (20:00)

21 June: Brazil vs Venezuela - Santiago (22:30)

First Team News

City A to Z: J is for...?

First Team News

Team Aguero v Team Villa: Picture special

Media Watch

Sky Sports: De Bruyne opens door to City switch?