Club News

Melbourne City make W-League history

Melbourne City Women have made W-League history, becoming the first side to win the Championship four times.

The Premiers edged reigning Champions Sydney FC at AAMI Park, courtesy of captain Steph Catley's solitary strike.

CITY+ | Sign up to watch exclusive content

Featuring former City star Claire Emslie, Melbourne regained the trophy by completing the 14-game campaign unbeaten, notching 11 wins from 12 games with 33 goals scored and just five conceded.

Catley opened the scoring on the 15-minute mark, firing a shot goalward which proved too powerful for Sydney shot-stopper Aubrey Bledsoe.

Emslie almost doubled the lead just after the half-hour, capitalising on a defensive mistake by Alanna Kennedy , but Bledsoe did well to deny the Scotland international.

Kyah Simon then struck the crossbar with a cross-shot, as Melbourne dominated the opening 45.

Sydney almost grabbed an equaliser inside the first five minutes of the second half, as Veronica Latsko latched onto a floated ball over the top. The forward's effort was blocked by Lydia Williams but almost bounced over the line - only for Ellie Carpenter to scramble the ball clear on the line.

A lovely passage of play then sent Simon clear but the striker's powerful strike whistled just past the far post.

Williams was called into action again late on - alert to thwart Princess Ibini with ten minutes remaining - while Milica Mijatovic was unfortunate not to double Melbourne's lead when Bledsoe's attempted clearance ricocheted off the Serbian striker and trickled wide.

One goal would prove enough, as Melbourne saw the game out to become the W-League's most successful side.