Men's Team

Five City stars nominated for prestigious Ballon d’Or prize

Five Manchester City players have been nominated for the 2021 Ballon d’Or.

Phil Foden, Kevin De Bruyne, Ruben Dias, Riyad Mahrez and Raheem Sterling have all been named on the 30-man shortlist.

The Ballon d’Or is the most prestigious individual award in world football, handed out by French news magazine France Football.


Having taken a one-year hiatus in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it is back in 2021, with the winner announced before the end of the year.

City won the Premier League title and Carabao Cup in 2021 – and reached the Champions League final.

Our five nominations means we are level with Chelsea as the team with the most players shortlisted. 


Meanwhile, Ederson has been nominated for the Yashin trophy.

Established in 2019, the Yashin Trophy is handed to the best goalkeeper of the year, with the winner also announced at the Ballon d'Or ceremony. 

Our Brazilian shot-stopper has been named alongside Gianliuigi Donnarumma, Kasper Schmeichel, Edouard Mendy, Thibaut Courtois, Emiliano Martinez, Keylor Navas, Manuel Neuer, Jan Oblak and Samir Handanovic.

The full 30-man shortlist is as follows:
Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)
Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)
Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)
Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)
Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG)
Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
Phil Foden (Manchester City)
Erling Haaland (Dortmund)
Jorginho (Chelsea)
Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea)
Simon Kjaer (AC Milan)
Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)
Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)
Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)
Kylian Mbappé (PSG)
Lionel Messi (PSG)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
Gerard Moreno (Villarreal)
Mason Mount (Chelsea)
Neymar (PSG)
Pedri (Barcelona)
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid)

Ballon D’Or Nominees by Club:
Manchester City: 5
Chelsea: 5
PSG: 4
Juventus: 2
Inter Milan: 2
Manchester United: 2
Real Madrid: 2
AC Milan: 1
Atletico Madrid: 1
Barcelona: 1
Bayern Munich: 1
Dortmund: 1
Liverpool: 1
Tottenham Hotspur: 1
Villarreal: 1